Elsewhere

I’ve recently written two guest posts at Maclin Horton’s blog, Light on Dark Water, as part of his “52 Authors” series – the idea being that each week of the year, he profiles a different author; and he’s asked his readers to contribute authors they consider notable. So far I’ve written two posts, on sci-fi author Robert Sheckley and 19th-century Hungarian Romantic Imre Madách. I did not consider either of them to be deep or edifying, merely a lot of fun to read; although in the course of rereading and writing about Madách’s “Tragedy of Man”, I came to realise that what I’d planned to recommend as merely an uproariously fun drive-by shooting of every human ideal ever was, in fact, smarter and subtler than I’d given it credit for.

Respond.

