Landshut

Today we joined the in-laws for a trip to the Moravian town of Landshut, named Lanžhot by the locals (I’ve spelt it wrong on the sketches below). The village was celebrating the anniversay of the dedication of the church – essentially, the church’s birthday party.

landshut_kirche

The celebrations involved a lot of people in traditional festival clothes, or kroj, with groups arriving in different styles of dress over the course of the afternoon (presumably from other villages; and one group was Slovaks, Landshut being near the border). I did some sketches of the Landshut clothes (ignore the top middle, that’s Judge Dredd for last week’s post):

landshut_kroj

My sketches, however, do not do justice to the ladies’ dresses, and how far to the back they stick out, which is quite extreme. It is as if some woman, frustrated with constantly worrying “does this dress make my bum look big?”, had decided “you know what, to hell with that, I’m going to make a dress that makes my bum look huge. It will look like I’ve got the rear end of a hippo down there. And I will never worry about that question again.”

(There’s a photograph of traditional clothes at the top of the town website, if you’re curious.)

Respond.